2017 Grant Recipients

Congratulations to the 2017 grant awardees (listed alphabetically):

Michael C. Montana, MD, PhD; Washington University/Barnes Jewish Hospital/Saint Louis Children’s Hospital Consortium
The role of neurosteroids in neuroprotection from anesthetic neurotoxicity
Mentor: Kevin Noguchi, PhD

James D. O’Leary, MD; The Hospital for Sick Children
Surgery in early life and risk of adverse child development: A sibling cohort
Mentor: Duminda N. Wijesundera, MD, PhD

Emmett E. Whitaker III, MD, FAAP; Nationwide Children’s Hospital
The Impact of Surgical Stress on Sevoflurane-Induced Glutamate Dysregulation, a Potential Mechanism Enhancing Excitotoxicity and Anesthesia-Induced Developmental Neurotoxicity (AIDN)
Mentors:  Fievos Christofi, PhD, AGAF; Bruno Bissonnette, MD; Joseph Tobias, MD

These grants for the year 2017 will be funded by the SPA Patient Safety, Education and Research Fund (PSERF). The investigators will present their work at the SPA-AAP Pediatric Anesthesiology 2018 meeting in Phoenix, AZ.